The Joe A. Callaway Award

Current Recipient: Mary Testa and Arnie Burton

The Joe A. Callaway Award honors the two best performances (one female, one male) in a professional production of a classical play - one written prior to 1920 - in the NYC metropolitan area. The judges of the Callaway Award had an extra hard time choosing this year’s winners because there were so many expert actors appearing in classical plays in New Year City. And many of them were from just one play: the Red Bull Theater’s hugely successful and spectacularly entertaining production of Jeffrey Hatcher’s adaptation of Nikolai Gogol’s The Inspector General.


The Actors’ Equity Foundation is a philanthropic and humanitarian nonprofit organization that was created in 1962 to aid and assist members of the acting profession and to promote the theatre arts. It is separate from Actors’ Equity Association and is funded by estate bequests and individual donations.


Past Recipients: 1989 - Present

© Actors' Equity Foundation

Designed by Miss Jess Designs

Want to make a difference to The Foundation?

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • LinkedIn Clean
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • YouTube

Actors' Equity Foundation

165 W. 46th Street

New York, NY 10036

Tel: 212-869-1242

*Union dues are not used to fund the Foundation