The Richard Seff Award


Current Recipient: Andre De Shields & Marylouise Burke

The Richard Seff Award was presented on June 11, 2019 at the Actors' Equity Association Regional Board meeting.

Both Burke and De Shields are veteran stage, screen and TV actors and were honored  with the Richard Seff Award. Equity member Richard Seff, who was in the audience, established this award in 2003. It is considered a lifetime achievement award for an actor who is over the age of 50 and has been an Equity member for 25 years or more. Previous recipients include: Margo Martindale, Jayne Houdyshell, Dana Ivey, Kristine Nielsen, Patrick Page, Stephen McKinley Henderson, Bill Camp, and Michael Potts.

 Andre De Shields was honored as Hermes in Hadestown,(Tony Award Best Musical). De Shields was honored with a Tony Award, Drama Desk Award, and Outer Critics Circle Award for Best Featured Actor in a Musical this year as well.

Marylouise Burke was honored for her role as Mom in the Roundabout production of True West.

The judges’ panel includes Joe Dziemianowicz, Adam Feldman, Time Out New York; Susan Haskins, Theater Talk; Harry Haun,BroadwayWorld, and David Rosenberg, Hearst Newspapers.


Past Recipients: 2004 - Present