The Clarence Derwent Award

Current Recipients: Stiles and Sykes


The Foundation honored Sarah Stiles (Tootsie) and Ephraim Sykesl (Ain't too Proud - The Life and Times of the Temptations) on June 11, 2019 at the Actors Equity Association Eastern Regional Membership meeting.

Stiles is recognized for her work as Sandy in Tootsie (which also earned her a Tony nomination, a Drama Desk nomination and an Outer Critics Circle Award nomination) ).

Sykes is awarded for his performance as David Ruffin in Ain't too Proud - The Life and Times of the Temptations. Sykes was also nominated for an Outer Critics Circle award as best featured actor in a musical.


The judges’ panel includes:  Joe Dziemianowicz, Adam Feldman, Time Out New York; Susan Haskins, Theater Talk; Harry Haun, BroadwayWorld and David Rosenberg, Hearst Newspapers.


Past Recipients: 1945 - Present